11th December 1905: Leigh 0 Wigan 8 (Lancashire Cup Final Replay)
Posted by Bilko on January 12 2015 - 01:03

Extended News
Click: Last Match - Click: Next Match
Leigh 0 Wigan 8 - Monday 11th December 1905
Venue: Wheater's Field, Broughton
Competition: Lancashire Cup Final Replay


1. Jack Mason, 2. Harry Lowe, 3. Windsor Jones, 4. Bert Jenkins, 5. Jim Leytham, 6. Johnny Thomas, 7. Billy Anderson


8. Rueben Collier, 9. Sam Moores, 10. Jack Barton, 11. Tom Whittaker, 12. Jack Hilton, 13. Dick Tyrer, 14. Peter Vickers, 15. Frank Watkins


Jim Leytham, Bert Jenkins


Jack Mason 1


This inaugural Lancashire Cup Final went to this replay held on a Monday Afternoon at the same Wheater's Field venue. The match continued like the first tie with no score for a long time but the deadlock was finally broken when Jim Leytham scored a try just before half time. In the second half Billy Anderson had gone close to a score before an interception was returned by Bert Jenkins for a try, to which Jack Mason converted for 8-0. Wigan never looked like letting that slip and thus became the first ever winners of the Lancashire Cup competition that would run until the 1992-1993 season.