1st May 1909: Wigan 7 Oldham 3 (Championship Final)
Posted by Bilko on September 27 2014 - 00:50

Extended News
Click: Last Match - Click: Next Match
Wigan 7 Oldham 3 - Saturday 1st May 1909
Venue: The Willows, Salford
Competition: League - Championship Play Offs Final


1. Jim Sharrock, 2. Jim Leytham, 3. Bert Jenkins, 4. Lance Todd, 5. Joe Miller, 6. Naddy Jones, 7. Johnny Thomas

WiganlForwards:l 8. Dick Silcock, 9. Tom Whittaker, 10. Howell De Francis, 11. Walter Cheetham, 12. Jack Barton, 13. Dick Ramsdale


Dick Ramsdale


Jim Leytham 1


1. Alf Wood, 2. George Tyson, 3. Sid Deane, 4. Tom Llewellyn, 5. George Smith, 6. Billy Dixon, 7. George Anlezark

OldhamlForwards:l 8. Bert Avery, 9. Joe Ferguson, 10. Bill Jardine, 11. Joe Owens, 12. Arthur Smith, 13. Harry Topham


Bill Jardine




Heavy Rain made this a slog of a Championship Final at Salford's "The Willows" ground. Wigan chipped an early penalty goal from Jim Leytham for 2-0 but Oldham took the lead in the 15th Minute with a try from Bill Jardine. Conversion was missed, so only 3-2. Then Wigan scored on the half hour. Wigan had then lost Jim Sharrock for a spell to injury but still remarkably re-took the lead. Good work between Leytham and Walter Cheetham opened up the space for Dick Ramsdale to score and Leytham converted for 7-3. Although Oldham pressed at the start of the second half, they eventually ran out of steam and this slender 7-3 lead would hold until the end. Though both Walter Cheetham and Oldham's Arthur Smith were sent off for fighting  That didn't deter from what was Wigan's first ever title success.

Scoring Pattern
3rd Minute Wigan 02 Oldham 00 Penalty Goal: Jim Leytham
15th Minute Wigan 02 Oldham 03 Try: Bill Jardine
30th Minute Wigan 05 Oldham 03 Try: Dick Ramsdale
- Wigan 07 Oldham 03 Conversion: Jim Leytham
Half Time Wigan 07 Oldham 03
Full Time Wigan 07 Oldham 03

Referee: Jim Lumley (Leeds)
Attendance: 12,000
Weather: Heavy Rain.