19th December 1908: Oldham 9 Wigan 10 (Lancashire Cup Final)
Posted by Bilko on September 24 2014 - 20:06

Extended News
Click: Last Match - Click: Next Match
Oldham 9 Wigan 10 - Saturday 19th December 1908
Venue: Wheater's Field, Broughton, Salford
Competition: Lancashire Cup Final


1. Jim Sharrock, 2. Jim Leytham, 3. Bert Jenkins, 4. Lance Todd, 5. Joe Miller, 6. Johnny Thomas. 7. Fred Gleave

WiganlForwards:l 8. Dick Ramsdale, 9. Walter Cheetham, 10. Jack Barton, 11. Tom Whittaker, 12. Massa Johnston, 13. Dick Silcock


Massa Johnston, Johnny Thomas


Jim Sharrock 1, Jim Leytham 1


1. Alf Wood, 2. George Tyson, 3. George Smith, 4. Tom Llewellyn, 5. George Cook, 6. Tom White, 7. Billy Dixon

OldhamlForwards:l 8. Bert Avery, 9. Joe Ferguson, 10. Billy Longworth, 11. Bill Nansen, 12. Arthur Smith, 13. Jim Wright


George Cook


Alf Wood 3


Wigan and Oldham were both joint top of the current league table, so this was a tasty looking Lancashire Cup Final held just before Christmas at Broughton. The weather though was horrible. Rain led to a heavy pitch and their wasn't much light either at this time of year. 18,000 still turned out and were treated to a fantastic game despite the conditions.

Oldham started the better of the two sides but only found a penalty goal from Alf Wood for their early dominance. Then Oldham found the games first try in the 20th Minute with George Cook scoring in the left corner. Conversion was missed and Wigan would have been happy to only be 5-0 down with Tom Llewellyn and George Tyson both going close to tries. Wigan began to find their feet and Massa Johnston scored an unconverted try in the 28th Minute and the sides added a penalty goal each for a 7-5 half time lead to Oldham.

Into the second half and Wigan levelled with a penalty goal from Jim Leytham but by the hour Oldham re-took the lead with a penalty from Alf Wood. This set up a tense finish with Oldham hanging on to a slender 9-7 lead. But Wigan found a try on 72 minutes with a great break from Lance Todd seeing him, with space running out on him, kicking ahead for Johnny Thomas to score. The conversion was missed, so it was now Wigan hanging on to a 10-9 lead.

The drama went down to the wire with Alf Wood having a long penalty goal to win the match for Oldham in the last minute. His kick would fall short and Wigan survived that scare to lift their second Lancashire Cup.

Scoring Pattern
3rd Minute Oldham 02 Wigan 00 Penalty Goal: Alf Wood
20th Minute Oldham 05 Wigan 00 Try: George Cook
28th Minute Oldham 05 Wigan 03 Try: Massa Johnston
30th Minute Oldham 07 Wigan 03 Penalty Goal: Alf Wood
38th Minute Oldham 07 Wigan 05 Penalty Goal: Jim Sharrock
Half Time Oldham 07 Wigan 05
48th Minute Oldham 07 Wigan 07 Penalty Goal: Jim Leytham
61st Minute Oldham 09 Wigan 07 Penalty Goal: Alf Wood
72nd Minute Oldham 09 Wigan 10 Try: Johnny Thomas
Full Time Oldham 09 Wigan 10

Referee: Frank Renton (Hunslet)
Attendance: 18,000
Weather: Rain, Muddy. Very Dark.