16th May 1993: Wigan 4 St Helens 10 (Premiership Trophy Final)
Posted by cherryandwhite on October 17 2013 - 00:19

Extended News
Click: Last Match - Click: Next Match - Click: Last Derby - Click: Next Derby

Wigan 4 St Helens 10 - Sunday 16th May 1993
Venue: Old Trafford, Manchester
Competition: Stones Bitter Premiership Trophy Final (1st Place v 2nd Place)
Kick Off: 3:30pm

WiganlBacks:l 1. Paul Atcheson, 2. Jason Robinson, 3. Sam Panapa, 4. Andrew Farrar, 5. Martin Offiah, 6. Frano Botica, 7. Shaun Edwards
WiganlForwards:l 8. Neil Cowie, 9. Martin Dermott, 10. Kelvin Skerrett, 11. Mick Cassidy, 12. Andy Farrell, 13. Phil Clarke

14. Ian Gildart (replaced Andrew Farrar - 72nd Minute), 15. Mike Forshaw (replaced Mick Cassidy - 25th Minute)


Mike Forshaw

WiganlGoals:l (None)

StlHelenslBacks:l 1. David Lyon, 2. Mike Riley, 3. Gary Connolly, 4. Paul Loughlin, 5. Alan Hunte, 6. Tea Ropati, 7. Gus O'Donnell
StlHelenslForwards:l 8. Jonathan Neill, 9. Bernard Dwyer, 10. George Mann, 11. Chris Joynt, 12. Sonny Nickle, 13. Shane Cooper
StlHelenslInterchanges:l 14. Jonathan Griffiths (replaced George Mann - 47th Minute), 15. Phil Veivers (not used)


Gary Connolly, Paul Loughlin




Gus O'Donnell 2



Having already won the League, Challenge Cup, Regal Trophy & Lancashire Cup, Wigan were aiming to complete the "Grand Slam" in this Premiership Final against St Helens, who they had beaten to the title only on points difference. Saints had led 4-0 at half time with a try from Gary Connolly but Mike Forshaw's try in the 59th Minute levelled the scores at 4-4. Then two drop goals from Gus O'Donnell edged Saints into a 6-4 lead before Paul Loughlin's try sealed the win. Wigan tried in vain to get the equalising score but they looked very tired in that last quarter. This loss was Wigan's first defeat in 18 finals since losing to Saints in the 1984 Lancashire Cup Final.

Half Time:l

St Helens 4 Wigan 0




John Holdsworth (Kippax)


Live Coverage on Sky Sports