21st April 1991: Wigan 26 Featherstone 31
Posted by cherryandwhite on September 26 2013 - 00:53

Extended News

Click: Last Match - Click: Next Match

Sunday 21st April 1991

Wigan 26 Featherstone Rovers 31
Central Park, Wigan
Stones Bitter Premiership Trophy Round 1
Kick Off: 3:00pm

Wigan Team

Sean Tyrer


David Myers

3.  Kevin Iro  T   
4.  Paul Gartland    
5.  Mark Preston    
6.  Phil Clarke    
7.  Bobby Goulding    
8.  Graeme West    
9.  Gus O'Donnell    
10.  Ged Stazicker    
11.  Ian Gildart  T   
12.  Mike Forshaw    
13.  Andy Goodway    
Sub.  Denis Betts    
Sub.  Steve Blakeley  T   


Tries: Trevor Clark 2, Chris Bibb, Terry Manning, Ian Smales, Chris Burton
Goals: Deryck Fox 3
Drop Goals: Deryck Fox 1


After the exhaustive end to the season for Wigan, the prospect of the end of season Premiership Trophy wasn't high on the agenda, especially with a Wembley cup final just six days away. With that in mind Wigan rested eight of their Wembley line up including Steve Hampson, Dean Bell, Frano Botica, Shaun Edwards, Andy Gregory, Ian Lucas, Martin Dermott and Ellery Hanley. Considering the changes, Wigan put up a great effort here but Featherstone celebrating like they'd won a major trophy at the final whistle was a bit much considering Wigan's recent onslaught to win the league.

Half Time: 





Robin Whitfield (Widnes)


1990-1991 Premiership Trophy First Round

Sunday 21st April 1991
1st Place v 8th Place:ll Wigan 26 Featherstone Rovers 31
2nd Place v 7th Place:ll Widnes 46 Bradford Northern 10
3rd Place v 6th Place:ll Hull 28 St Helens 12
4th Place v 5th Place:ll Castleford 20 Leeds 24

1990-1991 Premiership Trophy Semi Finals

Sunday 5th May 1991
2nd Place v 8th Place:ll Widnes 42 Featherstone Rovers 28
3rd Place v 5th Place:ll Hull 10 Leeds 7

1990-1991 Premiership Trophy Final

Sunday 12th May 1989
1st Place v 3rd Place:ll Widnes 4 Hull 14 (at Old Trafford, Manchester)