13th November 1988: Runcorn Highfield 2 Wigan 92
Posted by cherryandwhite on September 22 2013 - 16:52

Extended News

Click: Last Match - Click: Next Match

Sunday 13th November 1988

Runcorn Highfield 2 Wigan 92
Central Park, Wigan
(Switched from Canal Street, Runcorn)
John Player Special Trophy Round 1
Kick Off: 3:00pm

Wigan Team
1.  Steve Hampson  T2   G 
2.  Tony Iro  T3   
3.  Kevin Iro  T4   G9 
4.  Dean Bell  T   
5.  Ged Byrne  T   
6.  Ellery Hanley  T2   
7.  Andy Gregory    
8.  Brian Case    
9.  Martin Dermott    
10.  Adrian Shelford    
11.  Denis Betts  T   
12.  Andy Goodway    
13.  Andy Platt  T   
Sub.  Mark Preston  T2   
Sub.  Ian Lucas  T   


Tries: (None)
Goals: Steve Fenney 1


This cup visit of Runcorn Highfield to Central Park turned into a complete farce. After Runcorn conceded ground advantage, their players decided to go on strike because they were not being rewarded with the extra money the club would get from increased gate at Central Park. Many players didn't take the field and the Runcorn team included a number of trialists, reserves and their coach Bill Ashurst, ex Wigan and now aged 41, on the bench. An injury to Ian Moffitt meant Ashurst came on during the first half but eleven minutes later he was sent off for head butting Andy Goodway. As if Runcorn's chances weren't hard enough. Wigan cashed in all this farce to record a then competition record 92-2 victory.

Half Time: 

Runcorn Highfield 2 Wigan 36



Referee:  Geoff Carter (Widnes)

1988-1989 John Player Special Trophy Preliminary Round

Sunday 30th October 1988
Wigan St Patricks 36 Elland (Halifax) 2 (at Central Park, Wigan)
Featherstone Rovers 46 Hunslet 2
Workington Town 2 Castleford 28

Sunday 6th November 1988
Bramley 56 Fulham 10

1988-1989 John Player Special Trophy First Round

Saturday 12th November 1988
Leeds 12 Castleford 21 (BBC Grandstand)

Sunday 13th November 1988
Bradford Northern 34 Dewsbury 18
Bramley 32 Mansfield Marksmen 6
Halifax 22 Salford 4
Huddersfield 4 Chorley Borough 22
Hull 26 Batley 10
Hull Kingston Rovers 40 Keighley 0
Leigh 42 Barrow 14
Rochdale Hornets 26 Whitehaven 20
Runcorn Highfield 2 Wigan 92 (switched to Central Park, Wigan)
Sheffield Eagles 80 Wigan St Patricks 8
Swinton 13 Doncaster 16
Wakefield Trinity 34 Carlisle 14
Warrington 21 Oldham 14
Widnes 37 Featherstone Rovers 2
York 6 St Helens 14