Home Page · Site Forum · rugbyleagueontv.co.uk - RL TV Listings & RL Audio Match Commentary · DVD Swaps · Facebook Page · Twitter Monday, August 03, 2020
2020 Season
2020 First Team
2020 Reserves
2020 Under 18s
2020 Under 16s
2020 Women
Wigan RL History Pages
Historical Results at a Glance
Club Honours & Records
Wigan RL A to Z Player List
Wigan RL Heritage Numbers
Wigan RL Timeline
Wigan RL "Top" Timeline
Wigan v Saints - Derby Archive
Challenge Cup Record
League Cup Record
Lancashire Cup Record
All Time Head to Head Records
All Time Player Records
Central Park
The DW Stadium
Co-Operative Stadium, Orrell
Super League Only Stats
All Time SL Table
Classic Matches
Record Victory
8 in a Row!
Coaching Register
Average Attendances
Great Britain Register
Home Nation Register
Wigan - Miscellany
Playing Kit Archive
Two Teams in Wigan!
Wigan Highfield
Springfield Borough
11th December 1912: Wigan 21 Rochdale 5 (Lancashire Cup Final)
Posted by Bilko on December 08 2014 - 14:35

Click: Last Match - Click: Next Match
Wigan 21 Rochdale Hornets 5 - Wednesday 11th December 1912
Venue: The Willows, Salford
Competition: Lancashire Cup Final

WiganlBacks:l 1. Jim Sharrock, 2. Lew Bradley, 3. Bert Jenkins, 4. Lance Todd, 5. Robert Curwen, 6. Fred Gleave, 7. Johnny Thomas
WiganlForwards:l 8. Charlie Seeling (Snr), 9. Dick Ramsdale, 10. Arthur Francis, 11. Percy Coldrick, 12. Tom Whittaker, 13. Dick Silcock


Lew Bradley 2, Lance Todd, Charlie Seeling, Percy Coldrick


Jim Sharrock 2, Johnny Thomas 1


This Lancashire Cup Final had previously been postponed at The Willows on Saturday 30th November 1912 due to a Frozen Pitch, so was re-arranged for 2:30pm on this Wednesday Afternoon. Wigan could not have been in better form coming into the match but they started slowly with Rochdale wasting one opportunity before building a 5-0 lead. First Paddon kicked an amazing penalty goal from inside his own half for 2-0 before a try from Robinson made it 5-0. But Wigan hit back with a try from Percy Coldrick, to which Jim Sharrock converted for 5-5. Then Fred Gleave, Johnny Thomas and Lance Todd combined to get Lew Bradley over for a score that was again converted by Sharrock for a 10-5 Wigan lead. That lead was held until half time but Rochdale suffered a blow when they lost West to injury and they had to play the Second Half with only 12 men. Wigan had begun to look too strong anyway but with the man advantage the result was a foregone conclusion. A second try for Bradley increased that lead to 13-5 before further tries from Lance Todd and Charlie Seeling wrapped up Wigan's fourth Lancashire Cup success. They received their medals from the deputy mayor of Salford and when they returned to Wigan later in the evening, thousands had gathered in the town centre for a parade that was led by the Wigan Borough Brass Band.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Donate to Website

If you appreciate the efforts made on this site and would like to see them continue, donations are welcome to cover the increased running costs of this website. Cheers.

View a Previous Season.....

A to Z Player List


Remember Me

Lost Password?

Copyright - Cherryandwhite.co.uk 2002-2020
Whilst every effort is made to ensure that news stories are correct, we cannot be held responsible for errors. Some articles and pictures on this website have been recovered from various sources for archive purposes. If any material on this website is subject to copyright or incorrect in any way please contact us bilkowigan@googlemail.com so we can remove it or negotiate copyright permission.
RLFANS.COM, the owners of this website, the RLSA (Rugby League Supporters Association) or the 100% League Network are not responsible for the content of its sub-sites, please email the author of this sub-site if you feel you find an article offensive or of a choice nature that you disagree with.

Email RLFANS.COM's owners admins@rlfans.com if further assistance is required.

©1999-2020 RLFANS.COM