Home Page · Site Forum · rugbyleagueontv.co.uk - RL TV Listings & RL Audio Match Commentary · DVD Swaps · Facebook Page · Twitter Friday, January 15, 2021
2020 Season
2020 First Team
2020 Reserves
2020 Under 18s
2020 Under 16s
2020 Women
Wigan RL History Pages
Historical Results at a Glance
Club Honours & Records
Wigan RL A to Z Player List
Wigan RL Heritage Numbers
Wigan RL Timeline
Wigan RL "Top" Timeline
Wigan v Saints - Derby Archive
Challenge Cup Record
League Cup Record
Lancashire Cup Record
All Time Head to Head Records
All Time Player Records
Central Park
The DW Stadium
Co-Operative Stadium, Orrell
Super League Only Stats
All Time SL Table
Classic Matches
Record Victory
8 in a Row!
Coaching Register
Average Attendances
Great Britain Register
Home Nation Register
Wigan - Miscellany
Playing Kit Archive
Two Teams in Wigan!
Wigan Highfield
Springfield Borough
1st May 1909: Wigan 7 Oldham 3 (Championship Final)
Posted by Bilko on September 26 2014 - 23:50
Click: Last Match - Click: Next Match
Wigan 7 Oldham 3 - Saturday 1st May 1909
Venue: The Willows, Salford
Competition: League - Championship Play Offs Final


1. Jim Sharrock, 2. Jim Leytham, 3. Bert Jenkins, 4. Lance Todd, 5. Joe Miller, 6. Naddy Jones, 7. Johnny Thomas

WiganlForwards:l 8. Dick Silcock, 9. Tom Whittaker, 10. Howell De Francis, 11. Walter Cheetham, 12. Jack Barton, 13. Dick Ramsdale


Dick Ramsdale


Jim Leytham 1


1. Alf Wood, 2. George Tyson, 3. Sid Deane, 4. Tom Llewellyn, 5. George Smith, 6. Billy Dixon, 7. George Anlezark

OldhamlForwards:l 8. Bert Avery, 9. Joe Ferguson, 10. Bill Jardine, 11. Joe Owens, 12. Arthur Smith, 13. Harry Topham


Bill Jardine




Heavy Rain made this a slog of a Championship Final at Salford's "The Willows" ground. Wigan chipped an early penalty goal from Jim Leytham for 2-0 but Oldham took the lead in the 15th Minute with a try from Bill Jardine. Conversion was missed, so only 3-2. Then Wigan scored on the half hour. Wigan had then lost Jim Sharrock for a spell to injury but still remarkably re-took the lead. Good work between Leytham and Walter Cheetham opened up the space for Dick Ramsdale to score and Leytham converted for 7-3. Although Oldham pressed at the start of the second half, they eventually ran out of steam and this slender 7-3 lead would hold until the end. Though both Walter Cheetham and Oldham's Arthur Smith were sent off for fighting  That didn't deter from what was Wigan's first ever title success.

Scoring Pattern
3rd Minute Wigan 02 Oldham 00 Penalty Goal: Jim Leytham
15th Minute Wigan 02 Oldham 03 Try: Bill Jardine
30th Minute Wigan 05 Oldham 03 Try: Dick Ramsdale
- Wigan 07 Oldham 03 Conversion: Jim Leytham
Half Time Wigan 07 Oldham 03
Full Time Wigan 07 Oldham 03

Referee: Jim Lumley (Leeds)
Attendance: 12,000
Weather: Heavy Rain.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Donate to Website

If you appreciate the efforts made on this site and would like to see them continue, donations are welcome to cover the increased running costs of this website. Cheers.

View a Previous Season.....

A to Z Player List


Remember Me

Lost Password?

Copyright - Cherryandwhite.co.uk 2002-2020
Whilst every effort is made to ensure that news stories are correct, we cannot be held responsible for errors. Some articles and pictures on this website have been recovered from various sources for archive purposes. If any material on this website is subject to copyright or incorrect in any way please contact us bilkowigan@googlemail.com so we can remove it or negotiate copyright permission.
RLFANS.COM, the owners of this website, the RLSA (Rugby League Supporters Association) or the 100% League Network are not responsible for the content of its sub-sites, please email the author of this sub-site if you feel you find an article offensive or of a choice nature that you disagree with.

Email RLFANS.COM's owners admins@rlfans.com if further assistance is required.

©1999-2020 RLFANS.COM