Home Page · Site Forum · rugbyleagueontv.co.uk - RL TV Listings & RL Audio Match Commentary · DVD Swaps · Facebook Page · Twitter Monday, January 18, 2021
2020 Season
2020 First Team
2020 Reserves
2020 Under 18s
2020 Under 16s
2020 Women
Wigan RL History Pages
Historical Results at a Glance
Club Honours & Records
Wigan RL A to Z Player List
Wigan RL Heritage Numbers
Wigan RL Timeline
Wigan RL "Top" Timeline
Wigan v Saints - Derby Archive
Challenge Cup Record
League Cup Record
Lancashire Cup Record
All Time Head to Head Records
All Time Player Records
Central Park
The DW Stadium
Co-Operative Stadium, Orrell
Super League Only Stats
All Time SL Table
Classic Matches
Record Victory
8 in a Row!
Coaching Register
Average Attendances
Great Britain Register
Home Nation Register
Wigan - Miscellany
Playing Kit Archive
Two Teams in Wigan!
Wigan Highfield
Springfield Borough
16th May 1993: Wigan 4 St Helens 10 (Premiership Trophy Final)
Posted by cherryandwhite on October 16 2013 - 23:19

Click: Last Match - Click: Next Match

Sunday 16th May 1993

Wigan 4 St Helens 10
Old Trafford, Manchester
Stones Bitter Premiership Trophy Final

Kick Off: 3:30pm


Wigan Team
1.  Paul Atcheson    

Jason Robinson

3.  Sam Panapa    

Andrew Farrar


Martin Offiah

6.  Frano Botica    
7.  Shaun Edwards    
8.  Neil Cowie    
9.  Martin Dermott    
10.  Kelvin Skerrett    
11.  Mick Cassidy    
12.  Andy Farrell    
13.  Phil Clarke    
Sub.  Ian Gildart    
Sub.  Mike Forshaw  T   

St Helens 

1. David Lyon, 2. Mike Riley, 3. Gary Connolly, 4. Paul Loughlin, 5. Alan Hunte, 6. Tea Ropati, 7. Gus O'Donnell, 8. Jonathan Neill, 9. Bernard Dwyer, 10. George Mann, 11. Chris Joynt, 12. Sonny Nickle, 13. Shane Cooper. Sub: Jonathan Griffiths.

Tries: Gary Connolly, Paul Loughlin
Goals: (None)
Drop Goals: Gus O'Donnell 2


Having already won the League, Challenge Cup, Regal Trophy & Lancashire Cup, Wigan were aiming to complete the "Grand Slam" in this Premiership Final against St Helens, who they had beaten to the title only on points difference. Saints had led 4-0 at half time with a try from Gary Connolly but Mike Forshaw's try in the 59th Minute levelled the scores at 4-4. Then two drop goals from Gus O'Donnell edged Saints into a 6-4 lead before Paul Loughlin's try sealed the win. Wigan tried in vain to get the equalising score but they looked very tired in that last quarter. This loss was Wigan's first defeat in 18 finals since losing to Saints in the 1984 Lancashire Cup Final.

Half Time: 

St Helens 4 Wigan 0




John Holdsworth (Kippax)

Television:  Live Coverage on Sky Sports
No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Donate to Website

If you appreciate the efforts made on this site and would like to see them continue, donations are welcome to cover the increased running costs of this website. Cheers.

View a Previous Season.....

A to Z Player List


Remember Me

Lost Password?

Copyright - Cherryandwhite.co.uk 2002-2020
Whilst every effort is made to ensure that news stories are correct, we cannot be held responsible for errors. Some articles and pictures on this website have been recovered from various sources for archive purposes. If any material on this website is subject to copyright or incorrect in any way please contact us bilkowigan@googlemail.com so we can remove it or negotiate copyright permission.
RLFANS.COM, the owners of this website, the RLSA (Rugby League Supporters Association) or the 100% League Network are not responsible for the content of its sub-sites, please email the author of this sub-site if you feel you find an article offensive or of a choice nature that you disagree with.

Email RLFANS.COM's owners admins@rlfans.com if further assistance is required.

©1999-2020 RLFANS.COM