Home Page · Site Forum · rugbyleagueontv.co.uk - RL TV Listings & RL Audio Match Commentary · DVD Swaps · Facebook Page · Twitter Thursday, May 06, 2021
2021 Season
2021 First Team
2021 Academy
2021 Women
Wigan RL History Pages
Historical Results at a Glance
Club Honours & Records
Wigan RL A to Z Player List
Wigan RL Heritage Numbers
Wigan RL Timeline
Wigan RL "Top" Timeline
Wigan v Saints - Derby Archive
Challenge Cup Record
League Cup Record
Lancashire Cup Record
All Time Head to Head Records
All Time Player Records
Central Park
The DW Stadium
Co-Operative Stadium, Orrell
Super League Only Stats
All Time SL Table
Classic Matches
Record Victory
8 in a Row!
Coaching Register
Average Attendances
Great Britain Register
Home Nation Register
Wigan - Miscellany
Playing Kit Archive
Two Teams in Wigan!
Wigan Highfield
Springfield Borough
16th April 1993: Wigan 25 Castleford 18
Posted by cherryandwhite on October 16 2013 - 22:55

Click: Last Match - Click: Next Match

Friday 16th April 1993

Wigan 25 Castleford 18
Central Park, Wigan
Stones Bitter Championship - Round 26 of 26

Kick Off: 7:30pm


Wigan Team
1.  Steve Hampson      

Jason Robinson

3.  Dean Bell      

Andrew Farrar


Martin Offiah

6.  Frano Botica  T   G6   DG 

Shaun Edwards

8.  Andy Platt      
9.  Martin Dermott      
10.  Denis Betts      
11.  Andy Farrell      
12.  Sam Panapa      
13.  Phil Clarke  T     
Sub.  Barrie-Jon Mather      
Sub.  Mike Forshaw      


1. Graham Steadman, 2. Simon Middleton, 3. Tony Smith, 4. Grant Anderson, 5. St John Ellis, 6. Peter Coyne, 7. Mike Ford, 8. Lee Crooks, 9. Graham Southernwood, 10. Keith England, 11. Tony Morrison, 12. Martin Ketteridge, 13. Tawera Nikau. Subs: Andy Fisher, Dean Sampson.

Tries: Mike Ford 2, Tony Morrison
Goals: Lee Crooks 3


So a week after THE title decider that decided nothing at Central Park against St Helens, Wigan were back for another title decider this time against Castleford. Saints were two points clear at kick off but they had no games remaining. This was Wigan's game in hand and if they won they'd win the title on points difference. Castleford were the opponents who had taken the title race out of Wigan's hands by beating them at Wheldon Road twelve days earlier. Wigan wouldn't be done a second time by them though. They produced a thoroughly professional display to get the job done. Frano Botica settled any nerves with an early drop goal for 1-0 and then a penalty goal for 3-0. Then in the 18th Minute Phil Clarke scored under the sticks, taking advantage of poor tackling from Tawera Nikau. Botica converted for a 9-0 Wigan lead. Cas soon hit back though when a kick from Peter Coyne ricochet off Clarke straight into the hands of Mike Ford who scored under the sticks for Lee Crooks to convert. The now 9-6 score held for the final 15 minutes of the half.

Sweat was on but soon settled down again by that man Botica in the first minute of the second half. This time not a kick but a try in the left corner to which he converted off the touchline for 15-6. Off the restart of that try, Sam Panapa found space on the right and although Botica was held short, Dean Bell got Jason Robinson over in the right corner and with Botica converting again and with these kicks Botica had also beaten Fred Griffiths goals scored in a season for Wigan which dated back to 1959.

Saints Tea Ropati, guesting in Sky's studio at Central Park, was pretty hopeful at half time but now just five minutes after the interval Wigan had full control of the title destiny at 21-6. Botica edged them out to 25-6 with penalty goals and with ten minutes remaining all looked sweet. But a second try from Mike Ford and one from Tony Morrison on 77 minutes, brought that lead back down to 25-18 and Wigan had a sweaty time getting to the final hooter but the job had been done and Wigan's fourth title in a row had been achieved.

Half Time: 

Wigan 9 Castleford 6




Stuart Cummings (Widnes)


Live Coverage on Sky Sports

Final Top of the Stones Bitter Championship

1st Place:l Wigan - Played - 26 - Won - 20 - Drawn - 1 - Lost - 5 - Points: - 41 - (Diff: +417)
2nd Place:l St Helens - Played - 26 - Won - 20 - Drawn - 1 - Lost - 5 - Points: - 41 - (Diff: +287)
3rd Place:l Bradford - Played - 26 - Won - 15 - Drawn - 0 - Lost - 11 - Points: - 30 - (Diff: +119)
4th Place:l Widnes - Played - 26 - Won - 15 - Drawn - 0 - Lost - 11 - Points: - 30 - (Diff: +103)
5th Place:l Leeds - Played - 26 - Won - 14 - Drawn - 2 - Lost - 10 - Points: - 30 - (Diff: +73)
No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Donate to Website

If you appreciate the efforts made on this site and would like to see them continue, donations are welcome to cover the increased running costs of this website. Cheers.

View a Previous Season.....

A to Z Player List


Remember Me

Lost Password?

Copyright - Cherryandwhite.co.uk 2002-2020
Whilst every effort is made to ensure that news stories are correct, we cannot be held responsible for errors. Some articles and pictures on this website have been recovered from various sources for archive purposes. If any material on this website is subject to copyright or incorrect in any way please contact us bilkowigan@googlemail.com so we can remove it or negotiate copyright permission.
RLFANS.COM, the owners of this website, the RLSA (Rugby League Supporters Association) or the 100% League Network are not responsible for the content of its sub-sites, please email the author of this sub-site if you feel you find an article offensive or of a choice nature that you disagree with.

Email RLFANS.COM's owners admins@rlfans.com if further assistance is required.

©1999-2020 RLFANS.COM