Home Page · Site Forum · rugbyleagueontv.co.uk - RL TV Listings & RL Audio Match Commentary · DVD Swaps · Facebook Page · Twitter Monday, January 18, 2021
2020 Season
2020 First Team
2020 Reserves
2020 Under 18s
2020 Under 16s
2020 Women
Wigan RL History Pages
Historical Results at a Glance
Club Honours & Records
Wigan RL A to Z Player List
Wigan RL Heritage Numbers
Wigan RL Timeline
Wigan RL "Top" Timeline
Wigan v Saints - Derby Archive
Challenge Cup Record
League Cup Record
Lancashire Cup Record
All Time Head to Head Records
All Time Player Records
Central Park
The DW Stadium
Co-Operative Stadium, Orrell
Super League Only Stats
All Time SL Table
Classic Matches
Record Victory
8 in a Row!
Coaching Register
Average Attendances
Great Britain Register
Home Nation Register
Wigan - Miscellany
Playing Kit Archive
Two Teams in Wigan!
Wigan Highfield
Springfield Borough
22nd May 1994: Wigan 24 Castleford 20
Posted by cherryandwhite on October 02 2013 - 22:29

Click: Last Match - Click: Next Match

Sunday 22nd May 1994

Wigan 24 Castleford 20
Old Trafford, Manchester
Stones Bitter Premiership Trophy Final
Kick Off 3:00pm    (Delayed: 6:30pm-9pm)

Wigan Team
1.  Paul Atcheson    
2.  Jason Robinson    

Sam Panapa


Gary Connolly


Martin Offiah

6.  Frano Botica  T   G4 
7.  Shaun Edwards    

Kelvin Skerrett

9.  Martin Hall    
10.  Neil Cowie    
11.  Denis Betts  T   
12.  Andy Farrell  T   
13.  Phil Clarke    
Sub.  Joe Lydon    
Sub.  Mick Cassidy    


1. St John Ellis, 2. Chris Smith, 3. Richie Blackmore, 4. Tony Smith, 5. Simon Middleton, 6. Graham Steadman, 7. Mike Ford, 8. Lee Crooks, 9. Richard Russell, 10. Dean Sampson, 11. Martin Ketteridge, 12. Andy Hay, 13. Tawera Nikau. Subs: Ian Smales, Nathan Sykes.

Tries: Dean Sampson, Nathan Sykes, Graham Steadman
Goals: Lee Crooks 2, Graham Steadman 2


With a World Club Challenge away at Brisbane just ten days away, Wigan could have been forgiven for having more than one eye of that but they produced a thoroughly professional display to see of Castleford in this Premiership Final. Wigan though were left fuming by Kelvin Skerrett being ruled out of the Brisbane trip after he suffered a fractured jaw in receiving a vicious elbow from Castleford prop Dean Sampson.

Wigan had to come from behind after a Lee Crooks penalty goal was added to by a 20th Minute try by Sampson that made it 8-0. But with quickly responded with a try from Andy Farrell and further scores from Sam Panapa and Frano Botica had Wigan 16-8 up at the break. That lead was still in place when the Skerrett/Sampson jaw incident happened but no red card was shown by referee Stuart Cummings. Botica would later kick a penalty for 18-8 before Denis Betts try on 71 minutes looked to have sealed the game at 24-8. Cas rallied late though with Shaun Edwards being sin binned for a foul in the build up to Nathan Sykes 77th Minute try that made it 24-14. Graham Steadman then going under the sticks made it 24-20 as the clock ticked to 80 minutes and Wigan were forced to hang on for the three minutes of stoppage time.

Half Time: 

Wigan 16 Castleford 8




Stuart Cummings (Widnes)


Delayed Coverage on Sky Sports

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Donate to Website

If you appreciate the efforts made on this site and would like to see them continue, donations are welcome to cover the increased running costs of this website. Cheers.

View a Previous Season.....

A to Z Player List


Remember Me

Lost Password?

Copyright - Cherryandwhite.co.uk 2002-2020
Whilst every effort is made to ensure that news stories are correct, we cannot be held responsible for errors. Some articles and pictures on this website have been recovered from various sources for archive purposes. If any material on this website is subject to copyright or incorrect in any way please contact us bilkowigan@googlemail.com so we can remove it or negotiate copyright permission.
RLFANS.COM, the owners of this website, the RLSA (Rugby League Supporters Association) or the 100% League Network are not responsible for the content of its sub-sites, please email the author of this sub-site if you feel you find an article offensive or of a choice nature that you disagree with.

Email RLFANS.COM's owners admins@rlfans.com if further assistance is required.

©1999-2020 RLFANS.COM