Home Page · Site Forum · rugbyleagueontv.co.uk - RL TV Listings & RL Audio Match Commentary · DVD Swaps · Facebook Page · Twitter Monday, January 27, 2020
2016 First Team
2016 Season Fixtures
2016 Results/Reports
2016 Stats Centre
Wigan RL History Pages
Historical Results at a Glance
Club Honours & Records
Wigan RL - Big Match Database
You Tube Video Play List
Wigan RL A to Z Player List
Wigan RL Heritage Numbers
Wigan RL Timeline
Wigan RL "Top" Timeline
Wigan v Saints - Derby Archive
Challenge Cup Record
League Cup Record
Lancashire Cup Record
All Time Head to Head Records
All Time Player Records
Central Park
The DW Stadium
Co-Operative Stadium, Orrell
Super League Only Stats
All Time SL Table
Classic Matches
Record Victory
8 in a Row!
Coaching Register
Average Attendances
Great Britain Register
Home Nation Register
Wigan - Miscellany
Playing Kit Archive
Two Teams in Wigan!
Wigan Highfield
Springfield Borough
21st April 1991: Wigan 26 Featherstone 31
Posted by cherryandwhite on September 25 2013 - 23:53
Click: Last Match - Click: Next Match

Wigan 26 Featherstone Rovers 31 - Sunday 21st April 1991
Venue: Central Park, Wigan
Competition: Stones Bitter Premiership Trophy First Round (1st Place v 8th Place)
Kick Off: 3:00pm


1. Sean Tyrer, 2. David Myers, 3. Kevin Iro, 4. Paul Gartland, 5. Mark Preston, 6. Phil Clarke, 7. Bobbie Goulding

WiganlForwards:l 8. Graeme West, 9. Gus O'Donnell, 10. Ged Stazicker, 11. Ian Gildart, 12. Mike Forshaw, 13. Andy Goodway
WiganlSubslUsed:l 14. Denis Betts (replaced Phil Clarke), 15. Steve Blakeley (replaced Mike Forshaw)


Kevin Iro, David Myers, Steve Blakeley, Ian Gildart


Sean Tyrer 3


Trevor Clark 2, Chris Bibb, Terry Manning, Ian Smales, Chris Burton

FeatherstonelGoals:l Deryck Fox 3

Deryck Fox 1


After the exhaustive end to the season for Wigan, the prospect of the end of season Premiership Trophy wasn't high on the agenda, especially with a Wembley cup final just six days away. With that in mind Wigan rested eight of their Wembley line up including Steve Hampson, Dean Bell, Frano Botica, Shaun Edwards, Andy Gregory, Ian Lucas, Martin Dermott and Ellery Hanley. Considering the changes, Wigan put up a great effort here but Featherstone celebrating like they'd won a major trophy at the final whistle was a bit much considering Wigan's recent onslaught to win the league.




Robin Whitfield (Widnes)

1990-1991 Premiership Trophy First Round Results

Sunday 21st April 1991
1st Place v 8th Place:ll Wigan 26 Featherstone Rovers 31
2nd Place v 7th Place:ll Widnes 46 Bradford Northern 10
3rd Place v 6th Place:ll Hull 28 St Helens 12
4th Place v 5th Place:ll Castleford 20 Leeds 24

1990-1991 Premiership Trophy Semi Final Results

Sunday 5th May 1991
2nd Place v 8th Place:ll Widnes 42 Featherstone Rovers 28
3rd Place v 5th Place:ll Hull 10 Leeds 7

1990-1991 Premiership Trophy Final Result

Sunday 12th May 1989
1st Place v 3rd Place:ll Widnes 4 Hull 14 (at Old Trafford, Manchester)

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Donate to Website

If you appreciate the efforts made on this site and would like to see them continue, donations are welcome to cover the increased running costs of this website. Cheers.

View a Previous Season.....

A to Z Player List


Remember Me

Lost Password?

Copyright - Cherryandwhite.co.uk 2002-2014
Whilst every effort is made to ensure that news stories are correct, we cannot be held responsible for errors. Some articles and pictures on this website have been recovered from various sources for archive purposes. If any material on this website is subject to copyright or incorrect in any way please contact us webmaster@cherryandwhite.co.uk so we can remove it or negotiate copyright permission.
RLFANS.COM, the owners of this website, the RLSA (Rugby League Supporters Association) or the 100% League Network are not responsible for the content of its sub-sites, please email the author of this sub-site if you feel you find an article offensive or of a choice nature that you disagree with.

Email RLFANS.COM's owners admins@rlfans.com if further assistance is required.

©1999-2014 RLFANS.COM