Home Page · Site Forum · rugbyleagueontv.co.uk - RL TV Listings & RL Audio Match Commentary · DVD Swaps · Facebook Page · Twitter Thursday, May 28, 2020
2020 Season
2020 First Team
2020 Reserves
2020 Under 18s
2020 Under 16s
2020 Women
Wigan RL History Pages
Historical Results at a Glance
Club Honours & Records
Wigan RL A to Z Player List
Wigan RL Heritage Numbers
Wigan RL Timeline
Wigan RL "Top" Timeline
Wigan v Saints - Derby Archive
Challenge Cup Record
League Cup Record
Lancashire Cup Record
All Time Head to Head Records
All Time Player Records
Central Park
The DW Stadium
Co-Operative Stadium, Orrell
Super League Only Stats
All Time SL Table
Classic Matches
Record Victory
8 in a Row!
Coaching Register
Average Attendances
Great Britain Register
Home Nation Register
Wigan - Miscellany
Playing Kit Archive
Two Teams in Wigan!
Wigan Highfield
Springfield Borough
4th September 1985: Salford 12 Wigan 8
Posted by cherryandwhite on February 04 2013 - 21:36
Click: Last Match - Click: Next Match

Salford 12 Wigan 8 - Wednesday 4th September 1985
Venue: The Willows, Salford
Competition: Slalom Lager Championship
Kick Off: 7:30pm

WiganlBacks:l 1. Steve Hampson, 2. Phil Ford, 3. Jeff Clare, 4. Colin Whitfield, 5. Cliff Berry, 6. Steve Donlan, 7. Mike Ford
WiganlForwards:l 8. Neil Courtney, 9. Nicky Kiss, 10. Danny Campbell, 11. Ian Lucas, 12. Nick Du Toit, 13. Ian Potter
WiganlSubs Used:l 14. Jimmy Fairhurst (replaced Colin Whitfield - 28th Minute), 15. Paul Fraser (replaced Ian Potter - Half Time)


Phil Ford

WiganlGoals:l Colin Whitfield 1, Jeff Clare 1

SalfordlBacks:l 1. Paul Fletcher, 2. Ian Marsh, 3. Keiron O'Loughlin, 4. Peter Glynn, 5. Clive Griffiths, 6. John Fazackerley, 7. Darren Bloor
SalfordlForwards:l 8. Steve Dickens, 9. Paul Groves, 10. Gary Disley, 11. Nigel Lamb, 12. Mike McTigue, 13. John Pendlebury
SalfordlSubs Used:l 14. David Major (replaced Steve Dickens - 11th Minute), 15. John Taylor (replaced Gary Disley - 59th Minute)


Keiron O'Loughlin, Darren Bloor

SalfordlGoals:l Clive Griffiths 2

Wigan's tag of being 2-1 title favourites was quickly looking a mockery as they made it two losses from two to start the campaign. Wigan had taken a 2-0 lead but newly promoted Salford soon found themselves 10-2 up with first a try from ex Wigan player Keiron O'Loughlin before Darren Bloor scored. Wigan though responded with Jeff Clare sending Phil Ford over in the 30th Minute for a 10-8 half time score. The only points of the second half came from a Clive Griffiths penalty goal which proved enough to get Salford the win.

Half Time:l

Salford 10 Wigan 8

Attendance:l 4,404
Referee:l Bernard Walker
No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Donate to Website

If you appreciate the efforts made on this site and would like to see them continue, donations are welcome to cover the increased running costs of this website. Cheers.

View a Previous Season.....

A to Z Player List


Remember Me

Lost Password?

Copyright - Cherryandwhite.co.uk 2002-2020
Whilst every effort is made to ensure that news stories are correct, we cannot be held responsible for errors. Some articles and pictures on this website have been recovered from various sources for archive purposes. If any material on this website is subject to copyright or incorrect in any way please contact us bilkowigan@googlemail.com so we can remove it or negotiate copyright permission.
RLFANS.COM, the owners of this website, the RLSA (Rugby League Supporters Association) or the 100% League Network are not responsible for the content of its sub-sites, please email the author of this sub-site if you feel you find an article offensive or of a choice nature that you disagree with.

Email RLFANS.COM's owners admins@rlfans.com if further assistance is required.

©1999-2020 RLFANS.COM