Home Page · Site Forum · rugbyleagueontv.co.uk - RL TV Listings & RL Audio Match Commentary · DVD Swaps · Facebook Page · Twitter Thursday, January 20, 2022
2021 Season
2021 First Team
2021 Academy
2021 Women
Wigan RL History Pages
Historical Results at a Glance
Club Honours & Records
Wigan RL A to Z Player List
Wigan RL Heritage Numbers
Wigan RL Timeline
Wigan RL "Top" Timeline
Wigan v Saints - Derby Archive
Challenge Cup Record
League Cup Record
Lancashire Cup Record
All Time Head to Head Records
All Time Player Records
Central Park
The DW Stadium
Co-Operative Stadium, Orrell
Super League Only Stats
All Time SL Table
Classic Matches
Record Victory
8 in a Row!
Coaching Register
Average Attendances
Great Britain Register
Home Nation Register
Wigan - Miscellany
Playing Kit Archive
Two Teams in Wigan!
Wigan Highfield
Springfield Borough
Wigan RL History - Miscellany

Leading Scorers - Tries During a League Season.

A Wigan player has topped the league's try scoring charts on 26 occasions. Here's a list.

1905-1906Jim Leytham40
1907-1908Jim Leytham44
1908-1909Joe Miller49*
1909-1910Jim Leytham48
1922-1923Johnny Ring41
1923-1924Johnny Ring49
1924-1925Johnny Ring54
1925-1926Johnny Ring63
1928-1929Lou Brown44*
1934-1935Jack Morley49
1943-1944Johnny Lawrenson21
1949-1950Brian Nordgren57
1956-1957Billy Boston60
1957-1958Mick Sullivan50
1961-1962Billy Boston51
1964-1965Trevor Lake40
1968-1969Bill Francis40
1986-1987Ellery Hanley63
1991-1992Shaun Edwards40
1994-1995Martin Offiah53
1995-1996Martin Offiah20
1996Jason Robinson24
2001Kris Radlinski27
2010 Pat Richards 29
2012 Josh Charnley 31
2013 Josh Charnley 34

*Denotes Joint Leading Scorer. Stats are League Matches Only.

Leading Scorers - Goals During a League Season.

A Wigan player has topped the league's goal scoring charts on 26 occasions. 16 of these however where achieved by Jim Sullivan who only twice throughout his Wigan career did he fail to top the charts. Here's a list.

1921-1922Jim Sullivan100
1922-1923Jim Sullivan161
1923-1924Jim Sullivan158
1924-1925Jim Sullivan138
1925-1926Jim Sullivan131
1926-1927Jim Sullivan149
1928-1929Jim Sullivan107
1930-1931Jim Sullivan133
1931-1932Jim Sullivan117
1932-1933Jim Sullivan146
1933-1934Jim Sullivan194
1934-1935Jim Sullivan165
1935-1936Jim Sullivan117
1936-1937Jim Sullivan120
1937-1938Jim Sullivan135
1938-1939Jim Sullivan124
1947-1948Ted Ward141
1948-1949Ted Ward155
1949-1950Hector Gee133*
1969-1970Colin Tyrer167
1991-1992Frano Botica161
1993-1994Frano Botica188
1994-1995Frano Botica186
1997Andy Farrell109
1998Andy Farrell115
2000Andy Farrell151

*Denotes Joint Record Scorer

Leading Scorers - Points During a League Season.

A Wigan player has topped the league's point scoring charts on 30 occasions.

1905-1906Jim Leytham160
1909-1910Jim Leytham232
1912-1913Johnny Thomas198
1922-1923Jim Sullivan349
1923-1924Jim Sullivan319
1924-1925Jim Sullivan282
1925-1926Jim Sullivan274
1926-1927Jim Sullivan322
1928-1929Jim Sullivan226
1930-1931Jim Sullivan278
1931-1932Jim Sullivan249
1932-1933Jim Sullivan307
1933-1934Jim Sullivan406
1934-1935Jim Sullivan348
1935-1936Jim Sullivan246
1936-1937Jim Sullivan258
1937-1938Jim Sullivan285
1947-1948Ted Ward312
1948-1949Ted Ward361
1958-1959Fred Griffiths394
1969-1970Colin Tyrer385
1991-1992Frano Botica364
1993-1994Frano Botica422
1994-1995Frano Botica408
2001Andy Farrell388
2007Pat Richards248
2008Pat Richards 269
2009Pat Richards 258
2010Pat Richards 388

Man of Steel Winners

The Man of Steel was launched in 1976-77. This is the personality judged to have made the biggest impact on the league season.
It has been won 11 times by Wigan Players.

1980George Fairbairn
1987Ellery Hanley
1989Ellery Hanley
1990Shaun Edwards
1992Denis Betts
1993Andy Platt
1995Denis Betts
1996Andy Farrell
2004Andy Farrell
2010 Pat Richards
2012 Sam Tomkins

Wigan - Rugby League World Golden Boot Winners

The Golden Boot is given to the international player of the year, as determined by a ballot of international rugby league writers and broadcasters. The award was founded in 1985 by the British magazine Open Rugby. It has only been won by British players twice and both were playing for Wigan at the time.

1989Ellery Hanley
2004Andy Farrell

Lance Todd Trophy Winners

The Lance Todd Trophy has been awarded to the Man of the Match in the Challenge Cup Final since 1946. It has been won by a Wigan players on 16 occasions

1951Ces Mountford (v Barrow)
1958Rees Thomas (v Workington)
1959Brian McTigue (v Hull)
1965Ray Ashby (v Hunslet)
1985Brett Kenny (v Hull)
1988Andy Gregory (v Halifax)
1989Ellery Hanley (v St Helens)
1990Andy Gregory (v Warrington)
1991Denis Betts (v St Helens)
1992Martin Offiah (v Castleford)
1993Dean Bell (v Widnes)
1994Martin Offiah (v Leeds)
1995Jason Robinson (v Leeds)
2002Kris Radlinski (v St Helens)
2011 Jeff Lima (v Leeds)
2013 Matty Smith (v Hull FC)

Harry Sunderland Award Winners

The Harry Sunderland award was  first awarded at the 1965 Championship Final. With the move to Two Division football in 1973, the Trophy was then awarded at the Premiership Final, reverting to the Super League Grand Final when end of season play offs were re-introduced in 1998. It has been won by Wigan players on 10 occasions.

1971Bill Ashurst (v St Helens)*
1987Joe Lydon (v Warrington)
1992Andy Platt (v St Helens)
1994Sam Panapa (v Castleford)
1995Kris Radlinski (v Leeds)
1996Andy Farrell (v St Helens)
1997Andy Farrell (v St Helens)
1998Jason Robinson (v Leeds)
2010 Thomas Leuluai (v St Helens)
2013 Blake Green (v Warrington)
2016 Liam Farrell (v Warrington)

*Denotes on losing side.

Regal Trophy Final Man of the Match

The Regal Trophy Man of the Match has been won by a Wigan players on 7 occasions.

1983Martin Foy (v Leeds)
1987Andy Goodway (v Warrington)
1989Ellery Hanley (v Widnes)
1990Ellery Hanley (v Halifax)
1993Shaun Edwards (v Bradford)
1995Phil Clarke (v Warrington)
1996 Henry Paul (v St Helens)

Donate to Website

If you appreciate the efforts made on this site and would like to see them continue, donations are welcome to cover the increased running costs of this website. Cheers.

View a Previous Season.....

A to Z Player List


Remember Me

Lost Password?

Copyright - Cherryandwhite.co.uk 2002-2021
Whilst every effort is made to ensure that news stories are correct, we cannot be held responsible for errors. Some articles and pictures on this website have been recovered from various sources for archive purposes. If any material on this website is subject to copyright or incorrect in any way please contact us bilkowigan@googlemail.com so we can remove it or negotiate copyright permission.
RLFANS.COM, the owners of this website, the RLSA (Rugby League Supporters Association) or the 100% League Network are not responsible for the content of its sub-sites, please email the author of this sub-site if you feel you find an article offensive or of a choice nature that you disagree with.

Email RLFANS.COM's owners admins@rlfans.com if further assistance is required.

�1999-2021 RLFANS.COM