Home Page · Site Forum · rugbyleagueontv.co.uk - RL TV Listings & RL Audio Match Commentary · DVD Swaps · Facebook Page · Twitter Saturday, April 17, 2021
2021 Season
2021 First Team
Wigan RL History Pages
Historical Results at a Glance
Club Honours & Records
Wigan RL A to Z Player List
Wigan RL Heritage Numbers
Wigan RL Timeline
Wigan RL "Top" Timeline
Wigan v Saints - Derby Archive
Challenge Cup Record
League Cup Record
Lancashire Cup Record
All Time Head to Head Records
All Time Player Records
Central Park
The DW Stadium
Co-Operative Stadium, Orrell
Super League Only Stats
All Time SL Table
Classic Matches
Record Victory
8 in a Row!
Coaching Register
Average Attendances
Great Britain Register
Home Nation Register
Wigan - Miscellany
Playing Kit Archive
Two Teams in Wigan!
Wigan Highfield
Springfield Borough
28th September 1997: St Helens 20 Wigan 33

St Helens v Wigan Warriors - 1997 Super League Premiership Final.
Sunday 28th September 1997 at Old Trafford, Manchester.

Match Report

Wigan blitzed St Helens in the opening quarter of this game, but despite crossing the line four times, only one try was allowed. That one went to Andy Johnson, who followed up a kick for Andy Farrell. Very much against the run of play, the Saints scored a try through Derek McVey, after the video judge ruled a suspicious double movement OK.

Farrell extended the Warriors lead with a penalty on 25 mins. Moments later Farrell dribbled the ball through and caused pandemonium in the Saints' defence and Jason Robinson leaped over Chris Joynt for a touchdown. The Saints hit back almost immediately, when Keiron Cunningham off-loaded in a tackle, to send Paul Newlove on a 35 metre unopposed run to the line. 14-8 to the Warriors at the halftime interval.

An exchange of penalty goals in the opening minutes of the second half and a field goal from Nigel Wright, took the score to 17-10. Then Andy Farrell made a strong run through the St Helens defence and this set up a cross-field passing movement that had Kris Radlinski crossing in the corner. Wigan were running rampant at this stage and turned defence into attack, via a break by Simon Haughton, that Andy Farrell finished off. 20 minutes still to play and the Warriors were 27-10 in the lead.

Simon Haughton crossed for another try for Wigan, before the Saints hit back with two late consolation tries, from Paul Anderson and Karle Hammond, to give a 33-20 final scoreline.

So, Wigan keep up a remarkable record of having won at least one major trophy in each of the last fourteen seasons. Man of the Match and winner of the Harry Sunderland Trophy, was Wigan's captain, Andy Farrell.

St Helens 20
Tries: Derek McVey, Paul Newlove, Paul Anderson, Karle Hammond
Goals: Sean Long (2)

Wigan Warriors 33
Tries: Andy Johnson, Jason Robinson, Kris Radlinski, Andy Farrell, Simon Haughton
Goals: Andy Farrell (6)
Field Goals: Nigel Wright

Other Information

Attendance: 33,389

Donate to Website

If you appreciate the efforts made on this site and would like to see them continue, donations are welcome to cover the increased running costs of this website. Cheers.

View a Previous Season.....

A to Z Player List


Remember Me

Lost Password?

Copyright - Cherryandwhite.co.uk 2002-2020
Whilst every effort is made to ensure that news stories are correct, we cannot be held responsible for errors. Some articles and pictures on this website have been recovered from various sources for archive purposes. If any material on this website is subject to copyright or incorrect in any way please contact us bilkowigan@googlemail.com so we can remove it or negotiate copyright permission.
RLFANS.COM, the owners of this website, the RLSA (Rugby League Supporters Association) or the 100% League Network are not responsible for the content of its sub-sites, please email the author of this sub-site if you feel you find an article offensive or of a choice nature that you disagree with.

Email RLFANS.COM's owners admins@rlfans.com if further assistance is required.

©1999-2020 RLFANS.COM