Home Page · Site Forum · rugbyleagueontv.co.uk - RL TV Listings & RL Audio Match Commentary · DVD Swaps · Facebook Page · Twitter Saturday, December 05, 2020
2020 Season
2020 First Team
2020 Reserves
2020 Under 18s
2020 Under 16s
2020 Women
Wigan RL History Pages
Historical Results at a Glance
Club Honours & Records
Wigan RL A to Z Player List
Wigan RL Heritage Numbers
Wigan RL Timeline
Wigan RL "Top" Timeline
Wigan v Saints - Derby Archive
Challenge Cup Record
League Cup Record
Lancashire Cup Record
All Time Head to Head Records
All Time Player Records
Central Park
The DW Stadium
Co-Operative Stadium, Orrell
Super League Only Stats
All Time SL Table
Classic Matches
Record Victory
8 in a Row!
Coaching Register
Average Attendances
Great Britain Register
Home Nation Register
Wigan - Miscellany
Playing Kit Archive
Two Teams in Wigan!
Wigan Highfield
Springfield Borough
1987-1988 Challenge Cup Final

Wigan v Halifax - 1988 Silk Cut Challenge Cup Final.
Saturday 30th April 1988. Kick Off 3:00pm at Wembley Stadium, London.

Team Sheets

- Wigan Position Halifax -
1 Joe Lydon Full Back Graham Eadie 1
2 Tony Iro Winger David Ronson 2
3 Kevin Iro Centre Tony Anderson 3
4 Dean Bell Centre Ian Wilkinson 4
5 Henderson Gill Winger Colin Whitfield 5
6 Shaun Edwards Stand Off Bob Grogan 6
7 Andy Gregory Scrum Half Steve Robinson 7
8 Brian Case Prop Neil James 8
9 Nicky Kiss Hooker Seamus McCallion 9
10 Adrian Shelford Prop Keith Neller 10
11 Andy Goodway 2nd Row Les Holliday 11
12 Ian Potter 2nd Row Paul Dixon 12
13 Ellery Hanley L.Forward John Pendlebury 13
- - - - -
14 Ged Byrne Substitute Mick Scott 14
15 Shaun Wane Substitute Dick Fairbank 15

Score Sheet

Wigan 32 --- Halifax 12 12
Tries (7):
Kevin Iro 2
Henderson Gill
Joe Lydon
Tony Iro
Ellery Hanley
Dean Bell
--- Tries (2):
Tony Anderson
Neil James
Andy Gregory 1
Joe Lydon 1

Colin Whitfield 2

Scoring and Incident Pattern

26th Minute Wigan 04 Halifax 00 Try: Kevin Iro
30th Minute Wigan 08 Halifax 00 Try: Henderson Gill
32nd Minute Wigan 12 Halifax 00 Try: Kevin Iro
39th Minute Wigan 16 Halifax 00 Try: Joe Lydon
Half Time Wigan 16 Halifax 00
46th Minute Wigan 20 Halifax 00 Try: Tony Iro
48th Minute Wigan 24 Halifax 00 Try: Ellery Hanley
48th Minute Wigan 26 Halifax 00 Conversion: Andy Gregory
55th Minute Wigan 26 Halifax 04 Try: Tony Anderson
55th Minute Wigan 26 Halifax 06 Conversion: Colin Whitfield
65th Minute Wigan 30 Halifax 06 Try: Dean Bell
65th Minute Wigan 32 Halifax 06 Conversion: Joe Lydon
68th Minute Wigan 32 Halifax 10 Try: Neil James
68th Minute Wigan 32 Halifax 12 Conversion: Colin Whitfield
Full Time Wigan 32 Halifax 12

Other Information

Referee: Fred Lindop (Wakefield)
Attendance: 94,273
Weather: Dry.
Lance Todd Trophy Winner: Andy Gregory (Wigan)

Donate to Website

If you appreciate the efforts made on this site and would like to see them continue, donations are welcome to cover the increased running costs of this website. Cheers.

View a Previous Season.....

A to Z Player List


Remember Me

Lost Password?

Copyright - Cherryandwhite.co.uk 2002-2020
Whilst every effort is made to ensure that news stories are correct, we cannot be held responsible for errors. Some articles and pictures on this website have been recovered from various sources for archive purposes. If any material on this website is subject to copyright or incorrect in any way please contact us bilkowigan@googlemail.com so we can remove it or negotiate copyright permission.
RLFANS.COM, the owners of this website, the RLSA (Rugby League Supporters Association) or the 100% League Network are not responsible for the content of its sub-sites, please email the author of this sub-site if you feel you find an article offensive or of a choice nature that you disagree with.

Email RLFANS.COM's owners admins@rlfans.com if further assistance is required.

©1999-2020 RLFANS.COM